PSL started on 9th February in UAE. It started with a glittering starting ceremony where many singers performed. It was a start of second edition of PSL.

After the ceremony, first match started between defending champions Islamabad United and a heavyweight Peshawar Zalmi. Islamabad opted to bowl.

Kamran Akmal and Muhammad Hafeez came for opening from Peshawar Team. However Muhammad Hafeez got out at the very first ball of the match. Muhammad Irfan got first wicket of PSL 2017. Peshawar Team continued building up runs after that first blow. Kamran AKmal played really well. He hit many top bowlers. Kamran got out at 88 off Muhammad Sami. He hit six sixes in his innings. Dawid Malan was the other significant batsman who scored 43. At the end of their innings, Peshawar were 190-9.
Wickets: Muhammad Irfan 2, Muhammad Sami 2, SR Watson 4, Saeed Ajmal 1.

Islamabad United sent dwayne smith and Sharjeel Khan for opening. But soon after that Hassan Ali got Sharjeel Khan. But, it was Brad Haddin who led Islamabad's response with 73 off 39. Rain halted match for a few minutes, but play resumed after rain stopped. Brad Haddin and Dwayne smith go out after scoring fifties. Shane Watson and Sam Billings finished the match when Islamabad's score reached to 175.
Wickets: Junaid Khan 1, Hassna Ali 1, Chris Jordan 1.

It was an entertaining match with long sixes. Islamabad united responded well by defeating heavyweights Peshawar Zalmi. Peshawar Zalmi need to take a look at the performance of their middle order which did not perform well after a blistering start by kamran akmal.